Dev Update #4: Excitement and Tough Decisions

I’ve got several announcements to make here.

#1: My practice game is now called Project KS.  It has an actual name, but I am keeping that under wraps for now. I’ll reveal it at a later date with an official trailer when I am farther along in the dev process.

#2: Project KS will now be released sometime in Summer 2016.  Originally I had planned on releasing it in April, but due to my ambition, it’s going to take longer than I predicted to make it.

#2.5: As I just said, my ambition (something I should have seen coming) got the best of me and now Project KS is not going to be a small game you can beat in under an hour.  Over the two weeks I had been working on it, it rapidly changed into a much bigger game. Right now, I don’t know how long it will take to beat the final product, but I’d be willing to bet it’s going to take at least 5-10 hours.

#3: Because Project KS has grown in size and the fact that it’s going to take longer to develop, I am going to slow down the development of it. Over the past two weeks I have spent 95 hours working on it, and that is just the amount of time that was logged into RPG Maker and not the amount of time I spent drawing stuff up and writing things while not logged in. When you consider the fact that I have a full time job during the day, the amount of time I put into Project KS would be like having more than a 2nd full time job that I work on after I get off my day job.  It has completely worn me out and taken away from time I’d like to spend with my girlfriend and/or playing games.  Therefore, in order to preserve my sanity, I am going to be spending less time on it. This will also help me take the time to readjust the story and other parts of the game now that it has grown. If I could somehow afford to stay home all day and work on it rather than go to my day job, I would totally do that. But alas, I’ve gotta pay the bills.

#4: Regarding Dev Updates – they may be much more spaced out now that I will be taking more time on this project. Putting out 4 updates in 2 weeks was fun, but realistically I won’t be making as much progress as fast, so I won’t be posting as frequently for awhile.

#5: I am now looking for an artist to design a logo for the game and some possible other work. If you are one or know of one who might be interested, please contact me. Go to the contact page on this blog to do so.


I do not want to rush Project KS out. I want to take my time. I want it to be awesome. So I hope you will all bear with me as I slowly work on it and make it into something amazing.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Game Dev, Indie Dev. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

